Now you are talking! This is my jam! Almost everything I make has an element of upcycle to it. I love to use vintage linen, to cut up old clothes to use as fabric for new ones, even recycling buttons and elastic where they are in good condition.

So there were so many contenders for this category, but I went with the items in my upcycle tub(s) that had better stretch and recovery for this project. You don’t want to use an old ribbed knit t-shirt and end up with saggy knickers!

So here’s a couple of the ones I chose (theres more but I want to see how my pattern tweaking went before i cut more out)!

They are all too small for me, so I combined the waist band from the middle striped singlet with the first nighty to get these:

Undies are sooooo hard to get a flat picture of, but this pair was the worst offender yet! I suppose it’s because my bum is far from flat 😉.

img_5946

Once they are on they fill out nicely though 😉

img_5933

The next pair was from an exercise singlet from H&M. The leopard print spoke to me!

fullsizerender-5

It was a panelled singlet and it had flat locked seams so I couldn’t get them seam free, but I decided to embrace the seams and make them a design feature. I used new cotton lycra for the bands on these as I didn’t have any black with enough stretch and recovery in my upcycle tubs.

img_5947

I’m pretty happy with how these turned out, I think they are my favourite so far! I’m happy with the fit changes I have made along the way, but I wasn’t happy when I sewed the first leg band on the wrong side… Hello unpicker!! So now I am happy with fit I can go to town and upcycle all the cotton lycra in my stash as well as cut into my pretty Orinoco Designs Custom Fabric!!

 

Make sure you join in with the #knickerswithatwist hashtag on instagram and enter the rafflecopter giveaway from Orinoco Designs Custom Fabric!

Now as with all good Blog Tours, we have a giveaway for you!

You really have to enter, who doesn’t love free fabric seriously!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Make sure you check in all week and go see what Jess at Tea Dust & Stitches and Katie at Katie Makes a Dress have made!!

